Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Can you diagnose the issue based on these spark plugs?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Can you diagnose the issue based on these spark plugs?

I am a rookie at carb tuning. See if any of you guys can steer me in the right direction. I rebuilt the carbs ( among other things ) on a bike that has been out of operation for many years. It is running, but not well. I pulled the plugs and...

back plugs

front plugs

hmmmmm.... something is whacked. Here are some points on what I have done, let me know what you guys think. I appreciate any tips.

- top end has just been rebuilt too
    - stock everything ( jets, slider springs, airbox, exhaust )
    - I believe I did a fairly good job cleaning the carbs, torn them down did the spray down and soaked in carb cleaner for a day or so. There was a lot of varnished gas in them. I *think* I hit everything.
    - carbs were initially set to the manual spec for an 88 2 1/8 out, but have been run some as "in" as 1 1/2. Mostly around 2 I would say.
    - It has probably run a total of about 15 mins only on center stand. Max rpm maybe 3500, but most running was around 2000.
    - mostly smokes light grey when running
    - at one point I had one of the back plug wires disconnected accidentally and it was arching to the frame.

man... those are some clean back plugs... sure there's any spark at all from them? pull a back plug, attach it to the wire, and ground it... see if there's any spark at all. Might have fried something when it was arching out.

Bill

Comment

I was thinking the same thing. No combustion happening in the rear.
      BIKES: Honda: RC31 Racebike/ NT650 Streetbike, DUCATI: None at the moment.
      Former MSF Rider Coach / Trackday Instructor/ Expert Roadracer #116
      "I'd rather ride a slow bike fast than a fast bike slow."

Comment

Rear coil? Looks like your not getting any thing there double check running backwards from the plugs.