Throttle not rolling back

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Throttle not rolling back

Hello all - a newbie here who just bought an 88 Hawk about a month ago, so I've got a lot to learn about maintenance, etc.

But currently, my main issue is that my throttle no longer rolls back when I release it.

It was working fine previously but now it sticks. I did twist it a bit when trying to start it again after it stalled on me. Um, in the spirit of full disclosure, the translation of 'stalled' is that it ran out of gas and I made the rookie mistake of thinking it was anything other than being out of gas. But to help myself feel better, the tank was at 70 miles whereas the previous tank lasted to at least 100 miles, but I digress...

So anyone have any experience with this throttle sticking issue and how to fix it?

Thanks!

Oh, otherwise, it's been a blast getting my motorcycling chops on the Hawk!

Spray oil as much of the mechanism as possible before you start taking it to bits. Do the simple things 1st.
    -----------------------
    88 Bros
    93 Supra TT 6sp
    03 Sh*tbox Opel Combo
    -----------------------

Comment

Can be a few things :-
      Gummed up cables (what roberto said)
      Fraying cables
      Throttle tube sticky - can be gummed up (so remove clean and refit) OR cracked and sticking (tend to get broken easily when crashed - you may be able to bodge a repair).
      Incorrectly routed cables
      Badly adjusted cables at the carby end
      '95 ShaftHawk 650P>
      Front: Bros Mk2 front wheel; Mk1 forks; MetalGear disc; NC30 caliper; cb1 yoke.
      Breathing: Hacked up and shortened ART tri-can on collector and link pipe from DemonTweeks.
      Other: RGV bars; DefT dash; modded subframe; modded rearsets; relocated ignition.

'91 Bros 650 Mk1>
      Currently off the road.

Comment

Originally Posted by DefTrap
        Can be a few things :-
        Gummed up cables (what roberto said)
        Fraying cables