Wont Start

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Wont Start

I'm trying to get this thing to start but no luck yet. I took all of the wiring loose and fuel tubes loose in order to remove the subframe. I put it back together, and I cannot get it to start. Its turning over but not catching at all. So far I have sucked gas to get it through the lines, blown air into the tank with a shop vac (yes I made sure it was clean), and looked to make sure everything is connected. I pulled the spark plugs, they look fine. I do not have a voltage tester, so I'm not sure if it's and electrical problem. I also tried to short the fuel pump relay as specified in 18-9, but this didn't seem to do anything. Anyone have a suggestion.
    I'm new to working on bikes so, I'm a little lost on some of this stuff. I did notice with all of the effort to get fuel through the lines, nothing is flowing through them after the fuel pump when I'm trying to start it (I can suck it through though). I also bypassed the fuel pump by connecting the fuel line after the pump directly to the pep valve. One more question, where does the larger gauge green wire, next to the battery tray go? It looks like a grounding wire, but I can't remember where I pulled it from. Thanks

Chris

wont start

your right thats a earth lead,it's on the right side of the subframe near the battery box you should see a mounting for a small bolt,once you connect the wire there it should start hope this helps

flypiguk

Comment

wont start

just had a look at the sub,if you look at where the brake res is bolted to next to it is the bolt hole you are looking for

flypiguk

Comment

Does it mount to the brake res. bolt or in another spot next to the brake res. I have it mounted to the brake res. bolt. Would this keep it from starting (possibly not a strong enough ground)?

Comment

wont start