Project: BargainBros

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Project: BargainBros

Just under a year back I had an SV 650 to sell, it was tidy enough, I had been using it to commute on for the previous 18 months, but as practical as it was, it didn't set my soul alight, it was never much more than a functional bike for a purpose. I've had a couple of bros's over the previous 15 years, the first one was my first 'big' bike, a 400, the second was one that I helped build as part of a charity build, which in the end got sold for a couple of grand with the money going to cancer research. When I was thinking of selling the SV, a guy on a forum I go on (PB mag forum) who'd stripped a bros into bits a few years earlier with the intention of doing the bros up offered me a swap. When i say a swap, this wasn't to swap for the bike, it was a swap for the cost of the ferry ticket: He'd buy the SV off me for the asking price, but I'd have to drop it off to him a few miles north of Dublin. In return for dropping it off, I'd get his bros, in bits. Sounded like the makings of a nice little project, so a road trip was arranged.

As it turned out, he'd decided to get rid of everything he had that was bros related, so I got 2 bros frames with swingarms & back wheels, a standard front end, an RVF 400 front end with custom made yokes to match the bros, RVF400 rear wheel, a wilburs shock, a bros tank, a revere tank, a bros seat, tail & subframe, about half an exhaust system, a wiring loom and cdi (from a 400), a bros 650 engine, an XRV750 engine & loom which was on a written off bike & so can't legally go back on the road (X's punched through the numbers), plus a scattering of other ancillaries which would be needed to make at least one bike up.