X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

just took it for a spin....

Hi Folks; Yep a noob for sure....

As an into, I'll go ahead and spew....

First, I'm not really a street rider... I've been racing moto and off road for 35 years. Had tons of motocross bikes, never a road bike. Well untill now.

As a sad note, my dear friend Frank, loss his battle with the big"C". God I miss him. 4 or 5 years ago, Frank sold his old house and moved in with his new wife, Terry. So we had to move his Hawk to my place, the "barn" in the back. Frank always told me that I could ride the Hawk, but I never did cuz I didn't want hurt his bike. So I though that I would get the Hawk up and running so that I could sell it for Terry. That's when it all came to be....I fell in love with the Hawk and Terry though that it would not find a better home.

So, now I have a street bike.....

I cleaned the carbs, changed the fluids, scrubbed and pampered. I took through the neigborhood last night for a ride. Man, it is a nice bike!!!

I did find this forum and have already pulled down the shop manual. How cool is that !!!

So the Hawk is a '89 model....red...stock except the Corbin seat....8K on the odo. Looks real good, and runs now.

Still not sure about being a roadie, but at least I have a sweet bike.

Well, so much for the intro, I'm sure I be back with a bunch of dumb questions.....bare with me.

tootles....

moto.
    Ride Hard....

or Ride Home Alone

Hawks have this wonderful karma thing to them... they tend to find good people!!! Welcome to the forum and I'm sure your friend Frank is glad it's being ridden by you and not a stranger.
    1988 "BlackHawk" project
    1989 "RallyHawk" is Chuck's now!
    1988 "The Gray" Tempest Gray Metallic stocker

I can't tell you how peaceful it is. Shinya Kimura
    People who know ride Hawks. Riot

Comment

Pamper the the bike, and she'll love you right back...
      Sorry about your friend, but I think he would have loved